Hello World

Standard

Hello everyone and by everyone, I mean all 1 of you reading this! Since moving to Marietta into a house with an unfinished basement, I’ve taken up a new hobby that’s turning itself into a sort of business. It all started when a friend back in Florida posted a picture on Facebook of an old dresser she had had painted turquoise by someone who “upcycles” furniture. I thought to myself, I could do that.

So I started thinking about things around my house that I thought the hubster might let me experiment on. My daughter has had this chest of drawers in her room since she was born. It was actually part of our original master bedroom set from when we got married. It had originally been stained honey, then painted dark brown.

But it was kind of ugly. Here is a before picture of the shell of the dresser and one of the drawers so you can see the ugly color of it and the ugly hardware.

20130605-232344.jpg

20130605-232404.jpg

So I decided to make it my first makeover project. Needless to say I was hooked. It’s so amazing what a coat of paint can do to something. I’ve finished it and it’s super cute, but I’ve still got to reassemble it before you can see the after picture!

Here’s a sneak peak of one of the drawers though.

20130605-232504.jpg

So anyway, I’ve caught the furniture redo bug and am loving it. I hope you love my redos as much as I do. Feel free to email me (Rachel) at recreatedfurniture@gmail.com if you would like me to redo any furniture you currently own or if you’re looking for a particular piece of furniture for your house.

Leave a Reply

